Kigen, Chirchir pocket Kshs 2m after winning StanChart Marathon

Alphonce Kigen and Evaline Chirchir each raced away with Kshs 2 million after emerging victorious in the 42-kilometer individual men and women categories, respectively, of the 20th edition of the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon.

Those who finished second in the full marathon for both men and women were awarded Kshs 750,000 while the bronze medalists pocketed Kshs 500,000.

Those who were in the top ten of the 42-kilometer race pocketed a cash reward with ranging between Kshs 10,000 to Kshs 150,000 for positions fourth to tenth.

In the other races, only those who made it to the podium received cash rewards ranging between Kshs 100,000 and Kshs 300,000.

The 20th edition of the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon marathon attracted 22,000 participants comprising 73 elite athletes, 200 Persons with Disabilities (PWDs) and the rest being recreational runners.

The marathon featured six race categories: 42km men and women, 21km men and women, 10km men and women, 21km wheelchair men and women, 5km Family Fun Run race and the Corporate Relay Challenge.

The start and finishing points were at Uhuru Gardens, Langata Road. Runners used the scenic route on the Southern bypass for the physical marathon thus experiencing a great view of the Nairobi National Park.

The men’s 42-kilometer race was won by Alphonce Kigen timed 2 hours, 10 minutes and 18 seconds, followed by Moses Mwangi at 2 hours, 10 minutes and 26 seconds while Lameck Kibiwot clocked 2 hours 11 minutes to clinch the bronze medal.

Evaline Chirchir clocked 2 hours 24 minutes and 31 seconds to win the women’s full marathon race, followed by Aurelia Jerotich who finished the race at a time of 2 hours 26 minutes and 49 seconds while Sheila Chepkech was third after clocking 2 hours 27 minutes and 16 seconds.

In the men’s 10-kilometer race was won by Stanley Njihia Kamau who cut the tape timed 28 minutes and 36 seconds, followed by Shadrack Musyoka 26 seconds later with Evans Mayaka emerging third at 29 minutes and five seconds.

Loise Chemnung at a time of 31 minutes and 54 seconds won the women’s 10-kilometer race, followed by Gladys Chepkurui who clocked 32 minutes and 13 seconds. Betty Sigei was third in the race after clocking 33 minutes and 23 seconds.

Other results

21-kilometer men

  1. Justus Kiprop : 1:02:39
  2. Jackson Kipleting: 1:02:43
  3. Asbel Kiplimo: 1:03:02

21-kilometer women

  1. Jacqueline Chelal: 1:11:18
  2. Edith Jepchumba: 1:11:56
  3. Nancy Jepleting : 1:12:18

21KM Wheelchair Race – men

  1. Odiyo Henry Caleb: 1:32:21
  2. Samuel Kuria: 1:40:28
  3. Milton Hilahuya: 1:46:28

21KM Wheelchair Race – women

  1. Alar Rachel Akoth: 2:02:35
  2. Caroline Wanjira: 2:24:52
  3. Eunice Otieno: 2:26:03

Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon Local Organizing Committee, Chairman, Peter Gitau, said: “This year marks a significant milestone as we celebrate the 20th anniversary of this incredible marathon. Over the past two decades, we have witnessed an amazing journey of growth, and I am honoured to be a part of this celebration.”

“Our marathon is not just about running; it’s about making a real difference in the lives of those who need it the most. Standard Chartered Bank, in partnership with our sponsors, uses this event as a powerful vehicle to promote greater economic inclusion, especially for disadvantaged young people.

“We take pride in the fact that all the proceeds from this marathon are dedicated to our ‘Future Makers’ initiative, which focuses on creating a brighter future for the youth of Kenya.”

Standard Chartered partnered with Anti-Doping Agency of Kenya (ADAK) to ensure the results were credible.

Additionally, every participant received a tree seedling to plant at a place of their choice through the marathon’s ‘one tree per runner’ initiative.

All proceeds will be channeled towards the bank’s Futuremakers initiative where the bank is working with disadvantaged young people – especially girls and persons with disabilities to gain new skills and expertise to improve their chances of getting a job or starting their own business.

Futuremakers empowers the next generation to learn, earn and grow by focusing on education, employability, and entrepreneurship.

Prize Money

Position Physical 42KM Physical 21KM Physical 21KM Wheelchair Physical 10KM
1 KES 2,000,000 KES 300,000 KES 300,000 KES 200,000
2 KES 750,000 KES 150,000 KES 150,000 KES 150,000
3 KES 500,000 KES 100,000 KES 100,000 KES 100,000
4 KES 150,000  
5 KES 100,000
6 KES 50,000
7 KES 40,000
8 KES 30,000
9 KES 20,000
10 KES 10,000

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *